TV Review: The Walking Dead Third Season Finale

Posted: April 3, 2013 in Reviews, TV Shows
Tags: , , ,

At last the third season of the best show on earth comes to an end, and it was spectacular. The whole season was very well done and greatly improved on the first two runs. Technically I couldn’t find a fault, I’m not an expert, not even close, but special effects,  camera work, script, dialog, make up, characterization all seemed perfect. Except maybe the fact that these dudes and dames have time to go to the barber, bathe, shave and even dye the hair in the middle of the apocalypse. I find it hard to fit in my routine life and these guys always manage it. It’s the single most impressive achievement of these characters.

Great cast picture but it's hard to see the Governor smile without getting a shiver down my spine.

Great cast picture. Even here the Governor looks dangerous.

The finale hit some pretty high notes. The dealings between the Governor,  Milton and Andrea, the way Rick’s gang defended themselves, Andrea’s final demise, Carl’s practical view of murder, all where just perfect. But my all time favorite was when the Governor snapped and gunned down all those people. Damn that guy is cold and dangerous. I couldn’t believe Martinez and the nameless bearded big guy didn’t just shoot him in the back. The way things were handled with this chapter was very different from the original comic, both work very well but I think the show’s version might have made the near impossible feat of being slightly better.

My favorite scenes from the entire season were Morgan’s re-encounter, Lori’s death, Governor’s final snap and Merle’s last good deed. Michonne, Governor and Merle top my three favorite characters for this season. Rick, Daryl and Carl follow right behind. Kinda glad Andrea bit the bullet though, she was starting to make me angry.

It’s a nice touch that the Governor isn’t done. I wonder where that will take us. Will Rick build is own democratic Woodbury? Will Tyreese take his rightful place by Rick’s right side with Daryl, Michonne and Hershel on the front, left and back respectfully? Will Carl further develop Shane’s heritage?

We’ll just have to wait for the fourth season to find out. But, meanwhile, you can pre-order The Walking Dead Complete Third Season here and re-watch it all over again during the summer break.

What did you think of the show’s finale?

Comments
  1. Kinda disappointed the Governor didn’t catch some bullets in the face, face but good overall. Started to like Milton, too. BTW, added a link to your blog in my blog roll.

    • Hugo Silva says:

      I know what you mean, I also wanted the Governor to die a horrible death but somehow I think it’s better this way because we’ll get more from him next year. Yeah, Milton is one of those characters that you warm into without really noticing as opposed to Andrea…

Leave a comment